技能与技巧

在野火肆虐的时代,不留痕迹比以往任何时候都更重要

客人 - 2018年8月30日
图片1_3-vhFapF.png

新墨西哥州圣达菲:100 多年前,西奥多-罗斯福总统成立了美国林务局,负责管理美国 1.93 亿英亩的国家森林和草原,造福所有美国人。如今,这一使命正被不断增加的灭火成本所吞噬。

在过去的 20 年里,林业局预算中专门用于防火的部分被低估了,因此防火管理开始从林业局的其他活动(如娱乐、恢复、入侵杂草控制、资本改进、维护和设施)中借用资金。火灾成本增加导致的资金减少限制了该机构在国家森林土地上提供重要娱乐机会的能力。

对我们土地的影响

这对游客在林务局土地上的体验以及为提供娱乐机会而辛勤工作的人们产生了巨大影响。林业局土地上的所有行政设施中,有一半以上需要改善,其中约 41% 的设施状况较差,需要进行大修或翻新,约 12% 的设施状况一般,需要进行一些小修,47% 的设施状况良好。

图片 1_3.png

这也意味着林业局保护濒危物种的工作更加困难。由于资金减少,林务局无法履行与之前的《濒危物种法案》(ESA)磋商承诺相关的所有必要监测工作,从而削弱了该机构未来实施项目的能力,并因无法满足ESA磋商要求而危及当前的项目。该机构不得不放弃许多对受威胁和濒危物种恢复和保护工作至关重要的项目。

将资金和人力从非消防项目大幅转移到支持消防项目对当地产生了实际影响,包括对有助于防止灾难性火灾、保护为数千万人提供清洁饮用水的流域、保护不可替代的文化资源的恢复工作产生涟漪,以及为支持价值 6460 亿美元的户外娱乐经济以及数百个农村社区的就业和经济增长提供基础设施和计划。

值得庆幸的是,允许消防活动从林务局内部非消防活动预算中 "借钱 "的法律已经修改,并将于 2019 年秋季生效。美国林务局和内政部可以从 22.5 亿美元的应急基金中拨款,而不是从其他项目中借钱。这看似是一大笔钱,也是消除娱乐和维护资金所受负面影响的绝佳喘息机会,但 2017 年林务局在野火扑救上花费了 24 亿美元,去年烧毁了 970 万英亩的土地。

越来越多的火灾

自 1960 年以来最严重的六个火灾季节都发生在 2000 年之后,有人不禁要问:为什么?

原因之一是气候变化导致现在的火灾季节比 1970 年平均延长了 78 天。美国烧毁的森林面积是三十年前的两倍,森林管理局的科学家认为,到本世纪中叶,烧毁的森林面积可能会再翻一番。

虽然林业局及其灭火合作伙伴能够扑灭或控制 98% 的火灾,但像今年夏天发生的灾难性大火却烧光了林业局的资源。仅一到两成的火灾就耗费了 30% 或更多的年度成本。去年,林务局最大的 10 起火灾耗资超过 3.2 亿美元。七月份是加州财政年度的第一个月,加州已经花费了其年度火灾应急预算的四分之一。

我们的作用

我们知道,许多火灾都是人为造成的。美国国家科学院去年发表的一篇文章称,1992 年至 2017 年期间,人类造成的火灾占所有野火的近 90%。随着我们的城镇向荒野推进,随着我们从公共土地上逃离城市,我们必须更加重视我们在预防火灾中的作用。如果说 90% 的火灾是由人类引起的,那么这就意味着 90% 的火灾是可以由人类预防的。我们每个人都可以在户外休闲活动中尽自己的一份力量,遵循无痕原则的第五条原则,即尽量减少篝火的影响。

30639573826_c686a88c9a_o.jpg

生营火的第一步是了解允许生火的地点和时间。今年夏天,由于第三阶段的防火限制,西部的几个国家森林完全关闭。在我们选择生营火之前,观察当地的火险和天气状况是防止因娱乐引起野火的最简单步骤之一。

一旦我们选择了安全的篝火,我们就必须做好准备,在晚上睡觉或离开营地之前确保火已熄灭。真正的熄火标志是火炭触手冰凉。这可能需要装满水的几桶水和剧烈的搅拌才能完成,但付出的精力是值得的。我们不再建议用泥土或沙子作为灭火的适当方法,因为沙子会熄灭火焰,而不会使火失去重新燃烧所需的热量。

最后,我们可以扪心自问,是否总是有必要升起篝火。传统上,火在户外用于烹饪、取暖、照明或社交。如今,我们可以通过野营炉、保暖衣物、头灯、简单的扑克牌或鬼故事等替代品来实现上述四个目的。

我们在每一次户外旅行中采取的简单行动都会产生巨大的影响,有助于保护我们的土地、空气、水和野生动物免受灾难性野火的破坏。

享受你的世界不留痕迹

无痕组织的多尼尔-史蒂文斯(Donielle Stevens)和亚伦-哈斯曼(Aaron Hussmann)是 2018 斯巴鲁/无痕旅行培训师计划(2018 Subaru/Leave No Trace Traveling Trainer Program)的成员,该计划为全国各地的社区提供免费的流动教育。该计划的合作伙伴包括斯巴鲁美国公司(Subaru of America)、REI、Eagles Nest Outfitters、Deuter、Thule、Taxa 和 Klean Kanteen。 

资源

https://www.fs.fed.us/sites/default/files/usfs-fy18-budget-overview.pdf

https://www.fs.fed.us/sites/default/files/2015-Fire-Budget-Report.pdf

https://apnews.com/40673a50471d4335a31a558a6668e6ba

https://www.wta.org/news/signpost/how-trail-funding-works-fighting-fire-with-recreation-budgets

https://www.rei.com/blog/news/congress-reaches-deal-to-fix-wildfire-funding

https://www.usda.gov/media/press-releases/2017/09/14/forest-service-wildland-fire-suppression-costs-exceed-2-billion

https://wilderness.org/blog/5-big-myths-about-wildfire

https://www.outsideonline.com/wildfire-funding-congress

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/07/30/california-spends-one-fourth-of-annual-emergency-fire-budget-in-july.html

https://ewp.uoregon.edu/sites/ewp.uoregon.edu/files/WP_81.pdf

让我们共同保护和享受我们的自然世界

将最新的无痕电子新闻发送到您的收件箱,以便您随时了解并参与其中。

Skills & Techniques

In an Age of Catastrophic Wildfire, Leave No Trace More Important than Ever

Leave No Trace - August 30, 2018
Picture1_3-vhFapF.png

Santa Fe, NM: Over 100 years ago, President Theodore Roosevelt established the U.S. Forest Service to manage what would become America’s 193-million acre national forests and grasslands for the benefit of all Americans. Today, that mission is being consumed by the ever-increasing costs of fighting fires.

In the past 20 years, the portion of the Forest Service’s budget that is dedicated to fire was underestimated and as a result fire management started borrowing from other activities of the Forest Service, like recreation, restoration, invasive weed control, capital improvements,  maintenance, and facilities. The decrease in funding resulting from increased fire costs has limited the agency’s ability to provide vital recreational opportunities on National Forest lands.

Impacts to Our Lands

This has resounding impacts on visitor experiences to Forest Service lands and the people that work hard to provide recreational opportunities. More than half of all administrative facilities on Forest Service lands need improvement, with approximately 41 percent in poor condition needing major repairs or renovation, approximately 12 percent in fair condition needing some minor repair, and 47 percent of the facilities in good condition.

Picture1_3.png

It also means the Forest Service has a harder time protecting Endangered Species. Because of the reduction in funding, the Forest Service has been unable to fulfill all of the required monitoring associated with previous Endangered Species Act (ESA) consultation commitments, reducing the agency’s ability to implement projects in the future and jeopardizing current projects because ESA consultation requirements cannot be met. The agency has had to forego many projects critical to Threatened and Endangered Species recovery and conservation efforts.

The dramatic shift of funding and human capacity from non-fire programs to support fire programs has real implications on the ground, including ripples on restoration work that would help prevent catastrophic fires, protect watersheds that provide clean drinking water to tens of millions of people, protect irreplaceable cultural resources, and provide the infrastructure and programming that supports the $646 billion outdoor recreation economy and jobs and economic growth in hundreds of rural communities.

Thankfully, the law that allowed for fire activities to “borrow” from non-fire activity budgets within the Forest Service was changed and will go into effect in Fall of 2019. Instead of borrowing money from other programs, the U.S. Forest Service and the Department of the Interior can pull from a $2.25 billion emergency fund. This may seem like a lot of money, and a perfect respite to undoing the negative impacts on recreation and maintenance funds, but in 2017 the Forest Service spent $2.4 billion on wildfire suppression, with 9.7 million acres burned last year.

More and More Fires

The six worst fire seasons since 1960 have all occurred since 2000, someone has to ask, why?

One reason is that climate change has led to fire seasons that are now on average 78 days longer than in 1970. The U.S. burns twice as many acres as three decades ago and Forest Service scientists believe the acreage burned may double again by mid-century.

While the Forest Service and its firefighting partners are able to suppress or manage 98 percent of fires, catastrophic mega-fires like the ones witnessed this summer burn through the agency’s resources. Just one to two percent of fires consume 30 percent or more of annual costs. Last year, the Forest Service’s 10 largest fires cost more than $320 million dollars. California has already spent about one-fourth of its annual fire emergency budget in July, the first month of the state’s fiscal year.

Our Role

We know that many of these fires are human caused. Humans accounted for nearly 90 percent of all wildfires from 1992 to 2017, according to an article last year from the National Academy of Sciences. As our cities and towns push into wilderness, and as we escape on public lands to get out of our cities, it is essential that we take our role in preventing fires more seriously. If 90 percent of fires are caused by humans, it means 90 percent of fires are preventable by humans. We can each do our part in our outdoor recreation pursuits  by following Leave No Trace’s 5th Principle, Minimize Campfire Impacts.

30639573826_c686a88c9a_o.jpg

The first step in having any camp fire is to know where and when fires are allowed. This summer we saw several National Forests in the West close completely due to stage three fire restrictions. Observing the local fire danger and weather conditions before we choose to start a campfire is one of the easiest steps in preventing recreation-cause wildfires.

Once we choose to have a safe campfire, we must be equipped to make sure our fires are dead out before retiring for the night or leaving camp. The only true mark of a dead fire is one where the coals are cold to the touch. This may require several buckets full of water and vigorous stirring to accomplish, but the energy is well worth it. We no longer recommend dirt or sand as an appropriate method of extinguishing fire, as the sand can extinguish the flame without ridding the fire of the heat necessary to reignite.

Finally, we can ask ourselves if it’s always necessary to have a campfire. Fire is traditionally used in the outdoors for cooking, warmth, light, or social reasons. Today we’re able to accomplish all four of these objectives with alternatives like camp stoves, warm clothing, headlamps, and a simple deck of cards or ghost stories.

Our simple actions on each and every outdoor trip can add up in a huge way to help protect our land, air, water, and wildlife from the devastating effects of catastrophic wildfires.

Enjoy Your World. Leave No Trace.

Leave No Trace’s Donielle Stevens and Aaron Hussmann are part of the 2018 Subaru/Leave No Trace Traveling Trainer Program that provides free, mobile education to communities across the country. Proud partners of this program include Subaru of America, REI, Eagles Nest Outfitters, Deuter, Thule, Taxa, and Klean Kanteen. 

Resources

https://www.fs.fed.us/sites/default/files/usfs-fy18-budget-overview.pdf

https://www.fs.fed.us/sites/default/files/2015-Fire-Budget-Report.pdf

https://apnews.com/40673a50471d4335a31a558a6668e6ba

https://www.wta.org/news/signpost/how-trail-funding-works-fighting-fire-with-recreation-budgets

https://www.rei.com/blog/news/congress-reaches-deal-to-fix-wildfire-funding

https://www.usda.gov/media/press-releases/2017/09/14/forest-service-wildland-fire-suppression-costs-exceed-2-billion

https://wilderness.org/blog/5-big-myths-about-wildfire

https://www.outsideonline.com/wildfire-funding-congress

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/07/30/california-spends-one-fourth-of-annual-emergency-fire-budget-in-july.html

https://ewp.uoregon.edu/sites/ewp.uoregon.edu/files/WP_81.pdf

Let’s protect and enjoy our natural world together

Get the latest in Leave No Trace eNews in your inbox so you can stay informed and involved.